Developmental Stages of Eating and How it Leads to Overeating

Episode Summary

In this episode of the Overcoming Emotional Overeating podcast, Wendi talks about the developmental stages of eating and how it leads to overeating.

Episode Notes

These developmental stages of feeding and eating are really imperative if you're a parent of a young child, but also if you're if you have any issue with your food or your eating.

We have been already situated and pre-formatted by the age of five. We also know that there are stages in feeding and eating that radically impact the stages of feeding what happens to us later in life with food.

Stages of feeding:

  • We know that between the ages of zero and one, we develop, a stage of feeding called trust versus mistrust.
  • We've got ages 1 to 3, and this is the stage of autonomy, machine, and doubt.
  • 2 to 5 initiative versus guilt.
  • Ages 5 to 12. So now we're in kindergarten, we're in first grade, we're in second grade. And this is where we look at the stage called industry versus inferiority.
  • Ages 12 to 18, we have identity versus role confusion.